“Presenting your Presence into the Present space”

That is just one of the many odd phrases I heard tonight at the most yoga-y yoga class I’ve ever taken.

Let me explain.

Heather has gone back to Northern Ireland for summer holidays, meaning I have all of my evenings without my built-company. (She is my housemate, and my friend, and I am already missing watching Homeland with her on Netflix, she’s only been gone 2 days)

Since there are a lot of evenings to fill (actually, 10) until I fly fly fly away to my friends in the States, I decided to make the most of my gym membership. I try and swim at least twice per week and then fit in one extra thing, either another swim or a class, but as I have more free evenings I figured why not use what I’m already paying for! I like to try different classes, but I rarely do the same one two weeks running.

Tonight I did a double whammy – a very intense Step class in which I sweated more than I have ever sweated in my life, but did NOT pass out (always a bonus) and followed it up with the aforementioned most yoga-y of yoga classes, in which we mostly laid on the floor and focused on sending out love and kindness and compassion and breathing in a very non-natural rhythym.

It started off with facing the back of the room, instead of the front, which threw me completely since I am a hide at the back type person, and suddenly I was completely exposed at the front (complete with sweaty workout top, hair pinned back in a highly glamorous fashion, and a purple face) Then, I had some incredibly judgy thoughts about the super-toned, perky, athletic person setting up her own pink yoga mat and (very Zen) little lamp.

Turns out she was the teacher. [And she was actually quite good, so it was naughty of me to be judgy]

She invited us to “begin the practise” by lying on our backs. There followed the most relaxing but giggle-worthy yoga “practise” I have ever done. Lots of talk of “floating our arms” to the ceiling, doing something called “releasing prana” which I definitely heard as “releasing piranha” and almost had the giggles (turns out ‘prana’ is energy – who knew), and all kinds of other fun and weird stuff….

But for all that it was weird, now I feel super chilled, and I think I may actually go back to this class 🙂

-x-

Leave a Reply

