Day 25: my best friends

Well, this is a difficult one since I don’t know which of my friends would be comfortable with me talking about them on here. So I’m going to twist the subject a little and talk about my best friends from my childhood…

My first best friend was a girl called Roisin (Rosheen) who I went to ballet with. We were about three or four, and we bonded because we both had sleeveless red leotards with a little frill, while all the other girls had regular pink ones. They tried to make fun of us for being different, but we knew we were really the cool ones. Nothing to do with the fact that we were both teeny tiny and they didn’t have pink leotards small enough to fit us.

When I started primary school my best friend for a few years was another girl called Roisin. She and her little sister had the best collection of Sylvanian families’ toys (my favourite was the canal boat)

Other things I remember about Roisin are: she had a trundle bed, she was a Catholic (the one and only Catholic service I’ve been to was her first Holy Communion…I spent most of the time watching people cross themselves and trying to work out why they did it), and she lived next to a family who had a baby a year, and only one of them was a girl in the time we knew them.

Roisin and I stopped being friends when we were in year 3, because we were put in different classes. She became best friends with our friend Megan, and I got closer with my friend Monique.

Monique was a twin, and she had a little sister. Her dad was white and her mum was black, and they were foster parents to a boy who was in our school year. We stopped being best friends in year 5, when we were moved in different classes. I saw Monique’s mum when I was about 18, and getting ready to go to Uni. I told her I was studying social work, and she told me that Monique was going to study it too! Small world.

In Year 5, I became friendly with Jennie and Rebecca. Jennie and I had been at nursery together, and Rebecca was her best friend all the way through primary school. Rebecca’s mum was deaf, and her grandparents helped to take care of her sometimes. She and her mum got a dog called Meg, a little spaniel who was adorable! Jennie, Rebecca and I were a good three, we got on really well. The summer after year 5 we spent in and out of each others’ houses, going on bike rides and climbing trees…

Yes, I know it sounds like something from Enid Blyton but we actually did it!

But then I moved schools to go into Year 6 and from then on life got complicated!

That’s a story for another day though.

-x-

And then I moved school

Leave a Reply

