Yummy Chicken Pie

I really like chicken pie. I don’t know whether it’s the pastry or the chicken or the extra bits like ham and vegetables, or the sauce…but either way, I really like it. This Wednesday I made a pie, and it was so yummy. Here’s how I did it…

Ingredients

Brown some chopped onion in hot oil. Chop the chicken into bitesize pieces, and add to the onions to cook. Chop the leeks into discs, and add these to the chicken to cook.

Add the ham or other cooked meat to the pan just to warm through. (I got 300g of offcuts from the counter at the supermarket, for just over £1. Such a good deal)

While the chicken, ham and leeks are cooking together, make a white sauce:

Melt a generous amount of butter in a pan, then add a few spoonfuls of flour. Mix them together to make a kind of paste. Then add milk and whisk them together. Keep this on the heat until the sauce thickens, and add salt & pepper to taste.

Divide the chicken/ham/leek mix into your chosen dishes. I made two dinky ones and one ‘family sized’ one. I put a couple of handfuls of frozen peas in the bottom of the dishes – they didn’t need to go in the pan because they would cook in the oven, and double-cooked peas are nasty (in my opinion!).

Top with pastry – I cheated and used shop-bought, which tasted almost as nice as home-made but made significantly less washing up!

Bake in the oven for approx 30 minutes at 180C, and serve. I served with mix-mash (sweet potato and regular white potatoes, mashed up)

Ta da!

-x-

One thought on “Yummy Chicken Pie

  1. YES!!!I’ve tried it and it’s LOVELY!!!!=DD I should try it one day too!making my own chicken pie! and I’ll tell you how it all went! (well, only when the house’s in a better condition!=P)

Leave a Reply

