Memory Verse Monday…and a bit about grace

Memory Verse Monday…on a Tuesday, because I forgot yesterday!!!

This week my memory verse is from Numbers; chapter 6: 24-26

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace

I really like these verses; they really help me focus on God and remember that He is the everlasting light, which shines upon me (of all people!) and brings peace specifically for me, in whatever situation I am in.

I’m going to really work on sticking to memorising these verses, because I’m quite lax in it most weeks. At church on Sunday, Terry Virgo (who leads the New Frontiers movement, which my church is part of) preached on grace, and essentially how amazing it is! And I realised how often I think I’m letting God down when I don’t read my Bible everyday, or memorise the verse, or pray for half an hour straight, or pray aloud at prayer meetings…or or or. There are a thousand and one things I could do, which would glorify God – but because of grace I don’t need to do them. I can choose to, because I love Him and I want to – but whether I do them or not doesn’t affect my salvation: I am already saved, by grace, through faith.

How incredible is that?! What an awesome God we have.

Leave a Reply

