A wild Friday night…

I wanted to blog about this over the weekend, because it was very exciting for me – but, alas, my phone and laptop decided to gang up against me and refuse to let me upload any photos. And I need photos 🙂

My wild Friday night consisted of sorting all of this:

…into a new chest of drawers that the Harding family from church kindly gave me.

Such excitement for me!! My sewing stuff was already pretty well organised into boxes and tubs etc; but it’s just too many itty-bitty things. I like having things separated into their own little places, but when there was a chest of drawers available it just seemed perfect 🙂 And it will be much more manageable in the move, and in the new flat, to have everything (or as much as possible) stored in just one place.

Here’s what I did:

I have a whole drawer full of stuffing and padding! It’s a very bouncy, soft drawer 🙂

There’s also a drawer for fleece; because I don’t want to keep it in my wicker basket with all the other fabric – I use the fleece in the stuff I make for babies so it’s best to keep it separate from everything else as a lot of my fabric is second hand.

I also have drawers for:

>> general crafty stuff; wool, fabric paints, sequins and fiddly sparkly things, patchwork squares, wooden alphabet templates…just general mish-mash.

>> clothes patterns, my box of ribbons, my box of threads, the cardboard patterns I’ve used to make emblems…

>> finished products; my customised babygros which I am planning on loading onto my misi shop and/or gumtree etc to sell. I also have a stash of new, spare ones and some thoughts of new designs to try out when I’ve got the time and space again.

The whole re-shuffle took about two hours; I got quite sidetracked at points watching a programme I’d recorded from MTV – it was called “The New Virginity”…it was interesting!

I still have lots of my completed projects stored in boxes; again I need to load stuff onto misi! I’m going to look into buying another one of these:

…to store finished projects in, so that I can re-use the smaller boxes etc in other ways (i.e. for shoes!)

This storage box is completely stuffed full with all my big pieces of fabric…but it is quite a nice piece of furniture (does it count as furniture?!) so I don’t mind getting a second one to match. And I have space for it in my new bedroom, so it’s all good.

Oh! Update on the home-move; we move a day earlier than planned! 30th April, because of the Bank Holiday weekend! I’m very excited; God has been so faithful in meeting all our needs, we have everything we need except a fridge and are trusting that He will provide one of those too – we have looked on eBay and are keeping a close eye on freecycle and freegle… but we have everything else, which is amazing. We’re even getting things that were on our “would like” list (rather than our “desperately need or we can’t live” list) – like two DVD towers that I picked up this evening. AND, there’s a girl coming to look at my room in this house tomorrow so let’s pray she likes the room and goes for it 🙂

Less than two weeks to go!!

-x-

Leave a Reply

